Women; Important to Jesus?

(Please see ‘About’ for the purpose of this blog
and here’s how and why it started)

 

I am going to write about how I was led to the story of Mary Magdalene aka. Mary of Magdala today. A figure in the Bible which I only know briefly. I was led to this verse while feeling very down in the dumps with my conditions (here) and as per usual, wondering where it all went wrong:


As obedient children, do not be conformed to the passions of your former ignorance” -1 Pt 1:14

 

Have you ever felt as if multiple arrows were targeted and shot at only you? With words? The chill down your spine as the goosebumps run on your skin because you knew that it was for you? That’s exactly what I felt. Let me give some details first.

As most of us know, Mary Magdalene is mostly known for having “7 demons/devils” cast out of her by Jesus in the Gospels. She is also widely and inaccurately portrayed and remembered as a prostitute. Did you know that there is no evidence that she’s a prostitute? ZERO evidence. No evidence of other assumptions either.


[Mary Magdalene is the most mentioned woman in the Bible after Virgin Mary]

 

Unfortunately, women were also disregarded at the time. Even as witnesses to things, their words held no weight. (Grrrrr). Back to the point (before I begin to jump of my trampoline of anger and attack men. No offence). Along the road down, when men were still up in the hierarchy and primarily in leadership, Mary Magdalene’s accomplishments and what-not were casually altered and changed in the way she was perceived to no resistance. People wanted to suppress the power of women in leadership at that time. (again, grrrr).

On a more positive note, despite women being of low importance (or maybe NO importance), a woman or women (there might have been other women with her at the tomb) was the primary witness to Jesus’ resurrection! (BA-BA-DA-DAM! TA-DA!) The MOST IMPORTANT event of Christianity! Pop the champagne people!

As typically and almost as if customary, like all history, things were misinterpreted by confusion or differences in opinion so the ‘7 demons/devils’ that were casted out of Mary Magdalene were interpreted accordingly:

1- Sexual Sin
2- Mental Illness
3- 7 Vices: Lust, Greed, Gluttony, Envy, Anger, Pride, Sloth

 

Hmmm…..

 

*TARGET ACQUIRED, ENGAGE AND FIRE!!!!!!!!!*
 

All of the three interpretations point to me. *are you serious bro*. Like I mentioned in some of my previous posts, I never thought having pre-marital sex was wrong. It just seemed like a normal thing to do when you’re in a relationship with someone. To respond to your body. Now of course I knew later on through a retreat why it was wrong.

Secondly, as you can see in my ‘About‘ page, I suffer from mental illness as well. Nothing severe in a sense of being a huge handicap in my life but enough for me to struggle day-to-day as I constantly battle with the thought of death. Third, I knew a few years back that my lifestyle and its choices led me to commit all of what they call, ‘The Seven Deadly Sins‘.

So what do ‘ya know! Another revelation screaming in my face. Don’t get me wrong. I am thankful. I always welcome and appreciate in-your-face moments. I guess there’s a reason why God has not worked his complete healing with my vestibular migraine yet maybe because he wants me to contemplate more. Reflect more on my past ways so that I would never go back to it again when His appointed time of healing comes. Maybe I have not yet felt the weight of my sin’s entirety to repent wholeheartedly. I’m assuming that I haven’t had an ‘oh, crap‘ moment where I crumble inside and fall to my knees begging for forgiveness once I have come to a realisation of all the shit I’ve done. Pardon my french.

With that said, we all know that Mary Magdalene is a prominent figure, example and huge testimony to God’s mercy and forgiveness. How she served him, loved him and was faithful to the end because God touched her heart. He saved her from her sins that were bringing her unhappiness. She was a woman, and God made her one of the most important witness to the defining moment of Christ’s resurrection.

Now girls, what can we say about that? *Where’s all ma soul sisters, lemme here ya flo’ sisters* We are Powerful. Strong. Loving. Sensitive. Nurturing. Worthy. ENOUGH. All this, for Jesus, to Jesus. Praise God!

For all the sick out there, in mind, body, soul and/or spirit, don’t give up, don’t let go. We look to Mary Magdalene as an example. When others deemed her incurable, Jesus did not. He healed her, brought her up and made her a worthy and faithful servant. Everything happens for a reason. Yes, even if we die of sickness, but our souls will never die.

Fight on!

 

 

Things that are impossible for men are possible for God” -Luke 18:27

 

 

 

Be kind to one another,

xo, Faith

Tweet me @Godvsdepression

https://twitter.com/godvsdepression

One thought on “Women; Important to Jesus?

  1. Amen-Amein Sister in Christ Jesus-Yeshua Faith!! God Bless all my Sisters and Brothers in Christ Jesus-Yeshua!!

    I Love you all Everyone through Jesus-Yeshua Christ, because HE LOVED 💕 EVERYONE FIRST!!

    Love 💕 Always and Shalom ( Peace ), YSIC \o/

    Kristi Ann

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

