Conscience

(Please see About for the purpose of this blog)

 
PS: For new visitors, I encourage you to read from my first post as my posts are usually continuations. First post here: https://godvsdepression.wordpress.com/2015/09/02/depression-really/

 

Did you have trouble deciding whether to read this post or not because of the title?

 

We’ve all had our conscience pricked in our lives. We are not perfect. We have made mistakes without apologising, we have gone to bed choosing to block out that nagging conscience of something we did that we knew in our heart was wrong, that hurt someone else. That little voice.

And yet, how many times have we tried to psycho ourselves into thinking that what we did was not so bad? That we had our reasons for doing it. That things just simply, happened. That there was no way to control it. That you did not do anything wrong because someone told you so.

If we are genuinely unperturbed, why would we have to try and convince ourselves or hear from someone else that we have nothing to feel bad about?

I myself battled with my conscience, when I was doing things that were ungodly. Living the life of the secular world and indulging in almost all of the seven capital sins: Pride, Lust, Greed, Gluttony, Envy, Anger and Sloth.  I pushed it away disregarding it over and over again. However, deep inside me I knew it was wrong. I had that small voice because we were told in church that it was wrong, but I was ignorant of the extent of my actions and the consequences that would come with it.

Have you hurt someone unconsciously only to realise it after but never found the courage to apologise and thought that they would probably just forget about it with time? Have you done something knowing it would hurt someone for your own gain? Have you betrayed someone and apologised and actually stopped doing it? Have you done something you shouldn’t have when no one was around? Have you told a lie because you were afraid people would find out who you really are/what you did?

If you have, you have either betrayed yourself and/or someone else. If you betrayed yourself, stop, repent and seek God’s mercy to forgive yourself. If it was toward someone else, I encourage you to stop, repent and seek forgiveness from that person you hurt because you will never know the immensity of the damage you caused that person.

 

“The saddest thing about betrayal is that it never comes from your enemies”

 

As I was reflecting in past tense, it dawned upon me that one of our greatest blessing most of us don’t realise is going to bed with a clear conscience. Going to bed knowing that you didn’t do anything wrong. Going to bed knowing that you did your best to be the best person you could today. Going to bed knowing that if you died tonight, you wouldn’t have to worry about facing God.

Choose to receive this blessing, repent, change your ways, seek forgiveness. Everything you do, God is watching you. You cannot hide from him.

 

For my eyes are upon all their ways; they are not hidden from me, nor does their guilt escape my sight.” – Jeremiah 16:17

Nothing in all the world can be hidden from God. Everything is clear and lies open before him, and to him we must explain the way we have lived.” –Hebrews 4:13
 

The appropriate fear of the Lord is good, repentance is an ongoing process till the day we breathe our last. It is imprudent if we only read the parts and verses of the bible that we want to hear, that are pleasing to our ears and circumvent the commandments of God. No one is as good and merciful as the Lord, but even he does not forgive the unrepentant.

 
Be encouraged and take courage.

 


I am speaking the truth in Christ—I am not lying; my conscience bears me witness in the Holy Spirit” -Romans
9:1

 

 

Be kind to one another,

xo, Faith

Tweet me @Godvsdepression

https://twitter.com/godvsdepression

 

Leave a Reply

